The Scallions (SLAMjamz Records Catalog) - Agony Through Ceremony XE

Download the album for free in multiple digital formats (FLAC, MP3 & OGG) at blocSonic

A little over ten years ago, in 2002, I began working for SLAMjamz, the label run by Public Enemy’s Chuck D. I began by designing cover art for their digital single series. Among those digital singles were seven designed for Connecticut avante-garde power pop group, The Scallions, consisting of members Mike and Shawn Franklin. That eventually lead to me designing their SLAMjamz debut album “Agony Through Ceremony” in 2006. A year later I launched blocSonic and slowly molded it into the label it is today.

Over the years, I’ve kept in touch with Shawn, though I kept my SLAMjamz and blocSonic worlds quite separate, so blocSonic wasn’t on his radar. Then last year those worlds began merging with the release of Public Enemy producer C-Doc’s incredible music. Those releases piqued Shawn’s interest. He and I then began discussing options for bringing The Scallions music to blocSonic. We eventually decided that the best way to introduce them to blocSonic listeners would be via the Xtended Edition re-release of the SLAMjamz album.

So, with Chuck D’s blessing I’m very happy to introduce to you “Agony Through Ceremony XE”. This 3 disc collection is an incredible way for you to get to know the very talented Franklins. On disc 1 you’ll find the complete original album along with extras. Disc 2 contains a unique new way to experience the album via commentary from the band along with more extras. Finally, disc 3 contains instrumental versions and still more extras!

Whether you’re a long time Scallions fan discovering blocSonic for the first time or you’re a long time blocSonic fan discovering The Scallions for the first time, this is going to be treat for your ears!

A huge thank you to Chuck D for being down with this release and providing commentary! Thanks goes out to DJ Johnny Juice and C-Doc for also providing commentary! It means alot to have you all be a part of this. Of course, THANK YOU to Mike and Shawn Franklin for being open to this idea and making blocSonic home for some of your great music.

Thank you as well to all of you who decided to visit blocSonic and download this release. I hope you enjoy it! If you do dig the music, we’d love it if you spread the word about blocSonic. Remember… everything we release is cool to share! Always keep the music moving… share it… blog it… podcast it! If you’re in radio… support independent music and broadcast it!

Mike Gregoire


  • Disc 1
  • 1  Memories Are Made of This
  • 2  Her Rise and Fall
  • 3  Silence In Sunshine
  • 4  Plastragraphic
  • 5  One Small Mourning
  • 6  2
  • 7  Gladys
  • 8  Dusk
  • 9  Drifting Thoughts
  • 10  Reflections
  • 11  Goodbye
  • 12  Final Frame
  • 13  Reflections of Agony
  • 14  One Small Mourning (Single Version)
  • 15  Everlasting Time
  • 16  In The Face of An Unjust Quote
  • 17  Memories Are Made of This (Demo)
  • 18  Chuck D: Words From the Commissioner
  • Disc 2
  • 1  Memories Are Made of This (2012 Commentary)
  • 2  Her Rise And Fall (2012 Commentary)
  • 3  Silence In Sunshine (2012 Commentary)
  • 4  Plastragraphic (2012 Commentary)
  • 5  One Small Mourning (2012 Commentary)
  • 6  2 (2012 Commentary)
  • 7  Gladys (2012 Commentary)
  • 8  Dusk (2012 Commentary)
  • 9  Drifting Thoughts (2012 Commentary)
  • 10  Reflections (2012 Commentary)
  • 11  Goodbye (2012 Commentary)
  • 12  Final Frame (2012 Commentary)
  • 13  Chuck D 2002 Remix Intro
  • 14  Gladys (Words of Colour Mixx)
  • 15  Final Frame (Wooden String Arrangement)
  • 16  The Last Rain
  • 17  Drifting Thoughts (Remix)
  • 18  Silver Trees (Ice Storm Remixx)
  • 19  Memories Are Made of This (Land Down Under Remix)
  • 20  Silence In Sunshine (Yellow/Orange Mix)
  • 21  Plastragraphic (Reinterpreted)
  • 22  Gladys (Renaldo's Alpine Mix)
  • 23  C-Doc: The Final Reminiscence (Interrupted)
  • Disc 3
  • 1  Two Agony Through Ceremony Spots
  • 2  Reflections (Instrumental)
  • 3  Memories Are Made of This (Instrumental)
  • 4  Her Rise and Fall (Instrumental)
  • 5  One Small Mourning (Instrumental)
  • 6  Silence In Sunshine (Instrumental)
  • 7  Gladys (Instrumental)
  • 8  Goodbye (Instrumental)
  • 9  2 (Instrumental)
  • 10  Plastragraphic (Instrumental)
  • 11  Dusk (Instrumental)
  • 12  Drifting Thoughts (Instrumental)
  • 13  Final Frame (Instrumental)
  • 14  Pick Up the Beat! (Rehearsal)
  • 15  Gladys (Single Mix)
  • 16  Bed of Nails (10 Year Mix)
  • 17  Goodbye (Original Demo Vocal Version)
  • 18  Silence In Sunshine (Solo Home Demo)
  • 19  Plastragraphic (Home Demo)
  • 20  Goodbye (Molly Harvey Recording Outtakes)
  • 21  One Small Mourning (Alternate Drum Track)
  • 22  One Small Mouring to 2 Segue (Home Demo)
  • 23  Chartreuse
  • 24  A Guide to Agony Through Ceremony
  • 25  Memories Are Made Of This (Live)
  • 26  Johnny Juice: Juice on the Loose