Public Enemy - New Whirl Odor

What PEople are saying about "New Whirl Odor."

Read the reviews below, and grab the album NOW   

P.E. does it again...

By B. Bowman on November 2, 2005

"I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy of this (without the DVD disc) and was BLOWN AWAY after the first listen. I haven't heard P.E. rap with this much conviction in years, this is easily their strongest effort since "Fear of a Black Planet". Every track is tight and the result is that Public Enemy is BACK without a doubt. It's great to hear a master like Chuck D. show the new generation how it's really done. Just when I thought this one couldn't get any better I got to the last track, "Superman's Black In The Building", an eleven and a half minute opus that is worth the price of the disc alone. It's to the point now that Public Enemy are sampling their past work regularly on their new releases and it's interesting to hear samples of their older tracks mixed with new songs. If you are a fan of Public Enemy this is a must have. If you are part of the Fifty Cent generation this is also recommended. You just might learn something."

'Peace' sign HIGH like ya really DO care!

By T.A. on March 18, 2008

"I've been listening to this CD for a few months now, and I have to say this is PE's best release since 1994's "Muse Sick In Hour Mess Age." I've been a devout follower of Chuck D, Grif & Flav since 1987, when they released the best Rap album of all time, "It takes A Nation of Millions..." I was surprised to read some of the other reviews on this website: reviews suggesting this is anything BUT an incredible album. First of all, PE push the envelope on every CD, in that they are constantly trying new sounds, new mixing techniques, new instrumentation, etc. To expect PE to suddenly put out a run-of-the-mill hip/hop record is, well, freaking crazy. MLKVFKWR, Bring That Beat Back, Check What You're Listening To and Superman's Black in the Building are highlights of this CD. All are cutting edge hip/hop, hard core rap songs. Chuck attacks American government, the church, and money-hungry hip/hop producers and artists. And then there's What a Fool Believes. It's a song like this that really makes you raise an eyebrow...very interesting track. Throughout the entire album, you can hear old lyrics, riffs and jingles from classic old PE and Chuck D songs. Excellent way to tie the old classic PE to the new sound. If you only want to own a few PE CD's, this should be one of them...seriously. This is the most important Hip/Hop record of the new millenium. Preach on, and keep on keepin' on Mista Chuck."

Check What Youre Listening To!

By Encise on December 8, 2005

"Check What You're Listening To" is a tribute from DJ Lord and PE to the late, great Jam Master Jay (RIP) of RUN DMC. After a spoken word intro by JMJ himself, Chuck runs roughshod over a -dare I say- "West Coast" type hard groove piano beat while Lord scratches in snippets of vintage PE, Rakim, Big Daddy Kane, KRS1 and RUN DMC. The results are purely devestating and will cement PE's place on your iPod playlist. Alongside the album's second single "Bring That Beat Back", Moby collaboration "MKLVFKWR" and "Superman's Black In The Building", "Check What You're Listening To" is a return to form for PE, who you may have been sleeping on for a minute.This release scores points for the bonus DVD material (which includes some great scenes from the crew on the road in Europe), 11 minute "Superman" opus and Flavor's freestyle over an LL Cool J beatbox interlude (no kidding!). Its only cons are the hideous cover artwork (which thankfully, doesn't extend to the inlay - what were they thinking?!) and the terrible metal track, "What A Fool Believes", which is the albums only track-skip moment. Don't front on the PE - cop the album and play it loud!”

P.E. shows us all how it's done

By Ward Hoelscher on March 15, 2006

"To find a Public Enemy as good as this one, you have to reach all the way back to Fear of a Black Planet or It Takes a Nation of Millions....This is amazing.... and the crime is that this probably won't go down as one of their most well-known albums. This is a damn fine album from start to finish- I can even listen to the instrumentals, which I usually can't do. If you like Public Enemy and don't get this album, you should be guilty of some crime. Seriously, it's that good." 

PE advocates a New Whirl Odor

By Hype Currie on November 21, 2005

"New Whirl Odor" is the first Public Enemy release of completely new material since 1999's "There's a Poison Goin' On.”

With all the core band members well over 40, Public Enemy is already defying conventional wisdom on how long rappers can make a career off of beats and rhymes. Enjoying a semi-cult status, the band still tours worldwide venues regularly. But like the Rolling Stones, the group isn't content to just be a nostalgia act. Bypassing major labels for their own indie imprint, PE has crafted an LP that builds on their past, but still looks forward. Lingering domestic and international crises were likely invigorating force for the group, and neither the current US administration nor the excess of today's hip-hop culture are let off the hook, in "Makes You Blind": "Y'all know what I said when I say no to thug/thug life runs at the top and y'all thought it was `Pac...35 years old/ lost in a X-Box, Playstation and videos..." Chuck's ad-libs here name-check the Temptations' social-commentary LP "Ball of Confusion." It's obvious that he sees a parallel in today's world and the Vietnam era. Fortunately, Flavor Flav's reality show stints haven't diminished his role as hype man/Greek chorus to Chuck's stentorian soul lectures, as the diminutive dynamo zigs where Chuck zags (and a hidden track finds him freestyling with LL Cool J)."MKLVFKWR" is a scorching anti-war anthem produced by electronica maestro Moby: "Power to the people, not the governments/Capitalists, Communists, Terrorists/swear to God I don't know the difference ..."This cut is the sole "star" track, as the bulk of production on the LP is handled by Chuck's handpicked post-Bomb Squad team of DJ Johnny Juice, Professor Griff, Abnormal, C-Doc and Cheef Exek.They keep PE's sonic legacy intact, and likely at a fraction of the cost having a laundry list of superstar knob-twirlers would incur. "Check What You're Listening To" showcases DJ Lord - who replaced Terminator X back in '99 - and in between Chuck's swipes against commercial radio it serves as a scratch-heavy tribute to the late Jam Master Jay of Run-DMC. It's easily one of the best songs on the LP. The closing cut, "Superman's Black in the Building," is an extended jam (clocking in at more than 11 minutes), featuring saxophone by Chess Recordings jazz legend Gene Barge. Chuck, Flav and Griff aren't content to just rest on their already rock-solid legacy, soldiering on in the face of continuing ambivalence toward veteran hip-hop acts. PE drafted the blueprint that today's activist MC's - like Kanye West and Common - borrow from."New Whirl Odor" won't disappoint anyone who appreciates jeep-ready jams with a message.



  • 1  And No One Broadcast Louder Than [Intro]
  • 2  New Whirl Odor
  • 3  Bring That Beat Back
  • 4  66.6 Strikes Again
  • 6  What A Fool Believes
  • 7  Makes You Blind
  • 8  Preachin' To The Quiet
  • 9  Either We Together Or We Ain't (S1W Stepstrumental)
  • 10  Revolution
  • 11  Check What You're Listening To
  • 12  As Long As The People Got Something To Say
  • 13  Y'all Don't Know
  • 14  Either You Get It By Now Or You Don't